Association of African Universities(AAU) with the support from Economic Commission for West African States (ECOWAS) has decided to provide full sponsored fellowship programme for Masters and PhD to further foster higher education development, unity and excellence. The Programme seeks to promote capacity building within the ECOWAS 15-member countries by providing full fellowships for training and education for nationals of ECOWAS member states in higher education institutions of ECOWAS. The ECOWAS Fellowship Programme (EFP) is a full scholarship intended to cater for each fellow’s costs of living, tuition fees, visas, travel, insurance and thesis research. In this respect, ECOWAS will pay the tuition fees directly to the institutions and provide a monthly stipend of US$600 per Masters Student and US$800 per PhD student to cover all other expenses for the duration of the degree programme.
The Programme is open to qualified nationals (including graduate students, researchers, lecturers, and staff) of ECOWAS member states who will be admitted for Masters or PhD degree programme at any one of the following three universities:
  • University of Lagos, Nigeria
  • University of Ibadan, Nigeria
  • Université  Cheikh Anta Diop, Senegal
A good first degree (at least second class upper division or its equivalent) is required for Masters Degree programme. An MPhil degree or its equivalent is required for PhD programme. Female candidates are particularly encouraged to apply.
Study Disciplines
Applications are invited from all disciplines linked to the fields of strategic importance to the West African region such as:
  • Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM)
  • Earth and Life Sciences;
  • Health including maternal and child health, HIV/AIDS, etc.
  • Agriculture, Food Security and related disciplines
  • History of Africa
  • Information technology; and
  • Gender issues.
Application Procedure
Qualified candidates will be admitted to one of the three institutions mentioned above. Please ensure that the institution that you have selected offers the course you have chosen.  All the three universities provide information about their degree programmes on their websites.
The 2015 Applications are accepted before October 15, 2015 from eligible students from ECOWAS member institutions. Application will be done on line and will require the following:
  • A photocopy of the degree, recent CV and other supporting documents
  • Apply online here
Let’s receive your thought!!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.